3/11/19 - check out the great article about the AJO in this month’s Albuquerque THE Magazine!


WoodwindsGlenn Kostur, Aaron Lovato, Lee Taylor, Diantha Swoboda, Paul Blakey

Trumpets:  Derek Warren, Brad Dubbs, Henry Estrada, Kent Erickson, Bruce Dalby.

Trombones: John Sanks, Ben FinbergChris Buckholz, Bill Austell

Rhythm SectionJim Ahrend (p), Michael Anthony (g), Colin Deuble (b), and Andy Poling (d).

Vocalist: Hillary Smith

Musical Director: Glenn Kostur



Founded in 1982 by Pancho Romero, the 18-member AJO has been delighting audiences throughout the Southwest for more than thirty years. For many years under the leadership of trombonist John Sanks, the band has performed with an impressive list of guest artists, including Toshiko Akiyoshi, Pete Christlieb, Jim Pugh, Scott Wendholt, Dick Oatts, John Fedchock, Wayne Bergeron, Bob McChesney, Jeff Coffin, Butch Miles and jazz trumpet legend and Albuquerque native Bobby Shew, who served as the Musical Director of AJO from 2007 to 2010.

The band features professional and semi-professional musicians, and public school and university educators.


The Albuquerque Jazz Orchestra, Incorporated is a 501(c)3 non-profit charitable organization.


Website design by Ben Finberg

Site photography by Jim Gage